ACL 2009 Draw set for January 7

KUALA LUMPUR: The draw for the revamped AFC Champions League (ACL) will be held on January 7 at the Emirates Group HQ in Dubai, starting at 11am local time.

Gamba Osaka’s victory in the Emperor’s Cup on January 1 provided the final piece of the jigsaw as they became the 30th team to qualify for the continent’ premier club competition.

The 2009 ACL will feature 32 teams in the group stages instead of the 28 in previous events. Prize money has been increased with US$1.5 million for the winners and US$750,000 for the runners-up.

Japan, China, Iran, Korea Republic and Saudi Arabia have four representatives in the competition because these countries were deemed to be the most professional in the way their leagues are run.

United Arab Emirates have three entries; there are two each from Australia, Qatar and Uzbekistan while Indonesia have one side playing in the main competition.

UAE and Indonesia also have on team each in the play-offs.

The group stage comprises eight pools of four teams each. No pool will have two teams from the same country. Groups A-D will feature West Asian and Central Asian teams while Groups E-H comprises East Asian and Asean teams.

The top two sides, after a round-robin, advance to the round of 16, in which the top teams are at home for a straight one-match, knock-out competition.

An open draw is then conducted for the quarter-finals. Home-and-away format will be used until the final, which is a one-off match in Tokyo.

The play-offs feature one team each from India, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand and UAE vying for two berths in the 32-team draw.

AFC Champions League Participating Clubs

Main competition

Australia (two teams)
Central Coast Mariners
Newcastle Jets

China (four)
Shandong Luneng
Shanghai Shenhua
Beijing Guoan
Tianjin Teda

Indonesia (one)

Iran (four)
Saba Battery

Japan (four)
Kashima Antlers
Gamba Osaka
Kawasaki Frontale
Nagoya Grampus

Korea Republic (four)
Suwon Bluewings
Pohang Steelers
FC Seoul
Ulsan Hyundai

Qatar (two)
Al Gharafa
Umm Salal

Saudi Arabia (four)
Al Hilal
Al Shabab
Al Ittihad
Al Ettifaq

United Arab Emirates (three)
Al Shabab
Al Ahli
Al Jazira

Uzbekistan (two)

Play-off competition

Dempo (India)
PSMS Medan (Indonesia)
Armed Forces (Singapore)
Provincial Electricity Authority (Thailand)
Al Sharjah (UAE)


~ by sambalfootball7 on January 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: